A couple of suggestions

All suggestions to improve PXLEyes are welcome here.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 10:50 am
Hi all.

I'm pretty new here, but have frequented a few similar sites so please don't think I'm coming from a complete newbie standpoint :)

Anyway, I just have a couple of suggestions and welcome any feedback.

Contest levels
As I said, I'm new here, but not new to the whole 'game'. So there was a Photoshop contest recently I wasn't eligible to enter because of my level, though I had a good idea and, I'm pretty sure, the ability to produce a competitive entry.

So while I understand why there are comps of different entry levels, why not make it that anyone can enter any comp, but only those members with a sufficient level can actually win it? In other words, anyone can submit an entry 'just for fun', and to challenge themselves, but with the understanding that they can't actually win? Is it simply that it would potentially create more work for the mods?

Copyright
This site has BY FAR the most stringent rules concerning copyright I've ever seen. I mean stringent to the point of me sometimes wanting to go elsewhere because it's simply easier. Surely I'm not the only user who has felt this way. And why I really feel the need to question this is because if similar, long-running sites have survived without such exactitude, why not Pxleyes?

Number of contests
If the general ethos of this site is quality over quantity, why have so many concurrent contests? Since joining I've noticed quite a few contests with not many entries, and perhaps fewer contests overall would free up some mod time to deal with the potential increase in administrative workload that other site improvements - hint hint see first two points - :) may or may not generate.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:50 pm
Contest levels